Home > .NET, CodeGear, Company, Delphi, Personal, Programming, Projects, Thoughts, Windows, Windows Vista > Delphi 2009 Update 1: Now we’re talking

Delphi 2009 Update 1: Now we’re talking

The guys at CodeGear have a habit of providing unstable products for a long time now. Delphi 2007 was not an exception. But I can assure you that, with the latest update to Delphi, it became really beautiful.

With update 1 for Delphi 2009, the IDE itself became extremely stable and robust. I really like it.

For the old-heads like me, forget about component palette. I did, and I do not regret this decision. I got lots of “wow” effect with the new features came with this version of Delphi.

Delphi 2009 is a really beautiful product. Delphi has really returned this time.

Try it, buy it, use it. The future is bright for us, Delphi developers.

  1. January 19, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    There is already update 2 available, which fixes a couple of odd dbExpress bugs. In any case, I do agree with you.

  2. Excessive
    January 19, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Dear Marco,

    Thank you very much for posting! It is really a good feeling to see you here 🙂

    I really liked the new Delphi this time. It is extremely fast and robust. The feature set is extreme. All we need is time.

    Delphi is back on right track now, and we can even push it manually.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. eye776
    January 30, 2009 at 1:55 am

    Is there a free version (like the old Personal edition). I still use Delphi 6 Personal for development.

  4. chris
    January 31, 2009 at 1:22 am

    I’m using 2007 at the moment – I have issues with some aspects but its growing on me – previously stopped using delphi after D5. Is 2009 worth the upgrade from it ? I have the full on Rad Studio edition.

  5. Excessive
    January 31, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Hello eye776,

    As far as I know, there is not a free version of new Delphi 2009 IDE. But you can get Turbo versions of the products at http://www.turboexplorer.com.

  6. Excessive
    January 31, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Hello Chris,

    I’m just amazed with the speed, stability and quality of Delphi 2009. It definitely worths every penny of your money.

    Forget about Delphi 7. The time has come. If one product would be best-seller, it is Delphi 2009 for me.

    Cheers!

  7. Amfony
    February 9, 2009 at 3:35 am

    wth do you mean “forget about the component pallet”…what about “wow” stuff, what do you mean?

    • Excessive
      February 9, 2009 at 10:00 am

      Hello,

      By “Component Palette”, I was referring to old style component palette which can be found on Delphi versions before Delphi 8. Once you start to use the new palette, it is really fast and quick to find components.

      Forget the old component palette. New one is really amazing.

  8. hodari
    February 9, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I switched to C# a few years back and I have not looked back

  9. Amfony
    February 10, 2009 at 3:36 am

    Oh I see…yeah I didn’t like the new component pallet at first when I got D2007 and I still feel kinda like I’d prefer it after a long time with 2007…maybe just nostalgia.

    I was able to set up my D2007 very close to old style Delphi: floating windows, floating form designer…but no way to have old style tool pallet. It doesn’t bother me really, but I think I prefer the old style.

  10. Sanjay Sonani
    July 13, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Hi,Delphi guys.
    It is very nice journey to ship with delphi 2009 and it’s newly implemented Object oreanted concepts which never finds in to previos IDE.
    Some people’s opinion that Delphi 7 is the best IDE, But in my opinion Delphi 2009 is the best IDE on behalf of it’s new features and really RAD approch makes it the better among other languages.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

