Home > Company, Microsoft, Thoughts, Windows > Windows Vista: Results

Windows Vista: Results

Okay, I’m a bit confused right now. 

At first, without any custom software, Vista was extremely fast and robust. I have installed my usual applications, like Adobe Creativity Suite, NOD32, Visual Studio, Daemon Tools etc. After installing my applications, Vista started to crawl. I’m now writing this post from a computer which has Vista, but with “Windows Classic” theme, all unneeded services are disabled, and all of extra features like Ultimate Extra’s are disabled. My system is a little faster than before, but using Windows like this doesn’t make any difference compared to XP.

There are lots of services which work in the background, and sometimes their purpose are not explained in the Services Manager (services.msc). Some services lack explanations, for example, effects of disabling or enabling them.

I have disabled indexing services, but for some unknown reason, my hard disk is going mad time to time, and I don’t have any clue about it.

And result is, all of the time spent are went away. I’m going back to XP, and removing Vista again.

I suppose I will try it again when SP3 is released 🙂

  1. germanese
    July 22, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    yeah dude, stick to windows xp. actually sp3 has already been released. the final is out for few months now. i myself thought about linux, too. but when i used it, i hated it from the very beginning. windows xp is the best out right now. it has its weaknesses for sure, there is no perfect system. but it does the job right!!!

  2. Excessive
    July 22, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Thank you for stopping by!

    I have installed Windows XP and SP3, and now using it. But the SP3 I was talking about in the post was Vista SP3 🙂

    It has long time to go..

  3. germanese
    July 22, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    oh sorry dude. but yeah lets see what happens to sp3. but lets see what happens to windows 7. hopefully it wont suck that much, lol!

  4. George
    July 23, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Heh heh,
    Hate to say ‘I told you so’ (see my comment to your previous post).

    Did you notice that the installing stuff took 3 times as long?
    The disk thrashing is the search indexer and the system restore backup.

  5. Excessive
    July 23, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    You’re positive pal. I wouldn’t say software installation is 3 times slow. It took me 2 hours to install Adobe CS3 Master Collection 🙂

  6. Jeremy
    January 20, 2009 at 5:16 am

    ?

    Sometimes I just do not understand. Everything was better in Vista for me. So many people seem to have so many issues with it yet nothing has slowed me down?

    Running window 7 beta now and things are even better then I thought they could be. Running faster then my machine ever did with XP and had the things up and running on the net in less then a hour!

  7. Jedt Sitthidumrong
    July 23, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Hi, agree with you.

    I’ve to use Vista Business for my Macbook Pro also.
    I think it’s a bit stable/secure than XP but speed is the issue.

    If you need a tool that help your PC faster, try these..

    TuneUp 2009
    PC Optimizer Pro

    I’m very happy with the 2nd choice after trial.

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

