Home > Company, Microsoft, Personal, Security, Thoughts, Windows, Windows Vista > Time For A Switch: Windows Vista Ultimate

Time For A Switch: Windows Vista Ultimate

I never thought I would say it, but today, I have switched to Windows Vista Ultimate. No, I don’t have a legal key right now, but I have installed it without a key, and I suppose I will buy it at the end of 30 day trial period. With the Ultimate Extras, the product is really charming. Justbe sure to have over 2 gb’s of RAM, and everything will be fine.

After installation, I saw that my web camera, Asus ACPI/ATK device and my second ethernet adapter are undetected. I was thinking of searching drivers for these on the web, but while I was thinking, Vista started to download required drivers and updates for my devices. After reboot, voila! I have every hardware installed automatically for me.

So far, so good. Everything works like a charm, and visual effects are really good. Especially DreamScene feature. You can put any video to background of your desktop, and watch it while you are working with your computer.

I didn’t installed other software I need right now, so I can’t say something about application compatibility. I think that after SP1, the product came to a point where it is actually usable.

So, what about Arch Linux? It is still on my second hard disk, but I’ll be using Vista for my desktop computing needs from this day forth. For the first time in my life, I actually liked an operating system from Microsoft.

Now installing Visual Studio, and will enjoy developing Vista based software. Happy coding šŸ™‚

  1. George
    July 22, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Good luck with Vista. I stood it for a week before all the little problems made going back to XP an easier and less frustrating option, fortunately I have a dual boot system.

  1. July 19, 2008 at 3:40 pm
  2. July 19, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

