Home > .NET, Company, Microsoft, Patents, Personal, Programming, Projects, Visual Studio, Windows > A look into Visual Studio 2008, Part 1

A look into Visual Studio 2008, Part 1

Honestly, I never liked Microsoft, and Microsoft products in the past, because of obvious reasons. I said “in the past”, because that is mostly changed now.

Last week, one of my friends brought me a DVD of Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition, and urged me to try it. He knows that I always hated the SDI (Single Document Interface) view of Visual Studio IDE, but I promised to take a look at it. And I’m really glad that I did.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Welcome Screen

Overall, the Setup screen has a really good design, and the colors are giving you some hints of the programming world which waits you ahead.

Because I wanted native Win32 programming, I went with Visual C++ setup. After extraction of temporary setup files, the setup started.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Welcome Screen

I have unchecked the “Yes, send information about my setup experiences to Microsoft Corporation” box, and clicked Next. (A note to Microsoft: When will you stop asking about my experience on your products? I refused to give any data to you on Live Messenger, Windows Live Toolbar and all other Microsoft tools in the past, so why are you asking again and again? I will not give any data about my experiences on anything, especially my bed experience with my girlfriends. So stop bugging me.)

After clicking Next, license screen has appeared. It’s the usual yada yada, so I clicked Next. You better read it though, It tells that Microsoft is your real mommy, and owns every right and patent about you and the rest of the universe.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup License Screen

I accepted the license to continue setup, but inside me god knows I never actually did. Anyway, after clicking Next button, two options appeared magically.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Optional Products Screen

The installer program decided that I need these, so I just clicked next. The next screen gave me the opportunity to choose the installation folder, and I really appreciate it, because the ones I really wanted to disable are below that folder selection box, but those are not editable.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Destination Folder Screen

After a long hard battle setting up installation folder, I clicked Next button and the installation has started while Star Wars – Main Theme is playing at the background.

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Installation Screen

Setup program installed the following, one by one.

  • Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 Bruce Almighty Edition
  • Microsoft Windows SDK for Visual Studio 2008 Headers and Libraries (x86)
  • Microsoft Windows SDK for Visual Studio 2008 Express Tools for .NET Framework (x86)
  • Microsoft Windows SDK for Visual Studio 2008 Express Tools for Win32 (x86)
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition (Including Ballmer support classes)
  • MSDN Express Library for Visual Studio 2008 (Necronomicon included)
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition (x86)

Visual Studio 2008 Setup Last Screen

Everything is automatically installed in almost 40 minutes, and I watched recent “Developers, Developers, Developers” hit from Steve Ballmer while installation, over and over again.

Well, we’ll continue later with the evidence that Microsoft wants to rule the planet.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

