Home > GNU/Linux > LFS?

LFS?

After using Slackware for 10 years, I did switch to Arch Linux. But the update system is really broken. There is always a chance for something which works, does not work after an update. Latest nvidia drivers proves that. I was unable to compile against latest Arch kernel. After a kernel update, my framebuffer screen is corrupted on next reboot, I had to lower the amount of memory shared by my ATI X200 onboard to 64 mb’s. Also, some of the software like Links are compiled in a way (e.g. without framebuffer support) that is not really productive. Do not get me wrong, Arch is the best Linux distro out there after Slackware, but it has its own problems too.

Slackware is outdated now, Arch is unstable, Debian sucks, Gentoo has development problems lately, and Ubuntu and Suse are lame distros. I suppose only way for me after now is to create my own distro for my personal needs, using LFS.

I was using Slackware before Arch because:

– I was in control of everything.
– Nothing breaks unless I want to.
– I have complete control on kernel confıguration.
– Everything was stable, it just works.
– 99 source tar balls out of 100 compiles succesfully under Slackware.

Now I want a stable system with ultimate control, and only the software packages I need. It seems LFS is the only way to go.

Categories: GNU/Linux
  1. May 13, 2007 at 10:56 am

    why not try gentoo before going for LFS?

  2. Excessive
    May 13, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Actually, I might give Gentoo a try. I tried previous version of Gentoo, but setting it up is a bit pain. I just don’t want to update my system regularly. I only want a stable system, and the libraries and the utilities I want. LFS seems reasonable for these. Want a small system? Fine. Want a huge system? No problem, of course if you have enough time 🙂

    Btw, thank you for my first comment, I really appreciate the time you have taken to comment here. It would be an interesting experience to try Gentoo once again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

